Malaysia: first steps in a country of smiles

I did not know much about Malaysia. I only added it to my trip because it’s in between India and Indonesia! And what a wonderful surprise! Of all the countries I have visited so far, it might be the one I want to come back to the sooner. Kuala Lumpur is a clean and fun city. What a change from those last months! After India, I wasn’t so unhappy to find a familiar landscape… I would have probably not like it as much in another context, but I’m glad I took a few days to visit. The weather was extremely hot and it’s a pleasure to end up in malls to take advantage of the AC. The architecture is quite impressive and the food is pretty good. Also, as a Muslim country, I did not know how it was going to be… The first thing I thought in the airport was “wow, pretty much all women wear a veil”. And I am definitely not up for the veil, not “just” as a woman, but as a human being. We’re all equal. But then, I realized that all those women were working! It’s such a shock for me! Yes most women wear a veil yet it seems like there is no discrimination or sexism (apart from that veil…).  At least, as a tourist, it seems like women have less pressure than in the western world. They do any job, just like men, and I haven’t seen any funny look from a man. Everyone seemed relaxed, smiled all the time and was friendly. I have loved Malaysia from the first second!

DSCF1673 (2)

DSCF1676 (2)

DSCF1678 (2)

IMG_7330 (2)

DSCF1669 (2)

DSCF1687 (2)

 

Leave a Reply

