India: last days

At this point I didn’t even want to talk to people anymore. Everything South East Asia did to me, India took it away. I realized lately that I no longer give my trust to strangers, have the same thirst to discover new cultures, and automatically set myself on survival mode when too many people talk to me or watch at the same time. All because of Indians.

We went to the Kaeladeo national park, a reserve where a lot of birds can be seen. We rented bikes, turned off the many guides who kept saying we wouldn’t see anything without them and lost ourselves on the deserted off the beaten track path. For the first time in nearly a month, it was just Silvere and I, we could talk for more than 1 minute without being interrupted. The park is ok, except for the motorcycles that definitely should not be allowed (they’re not but here they are). We saw a lot of birds, monkeys and large deers!

DSCF1491

DSCF1500

DSCF1509DSCF1537

DSCF1539

DSCF1475

DSCF1468

DSCF1434

 

On our way to Agra, we also stopped at Fathepur Sikri, called a royal ghost town by all guides when it just really is an ancient palace. The architecture is interesting and different than what we’d seen before in India, but it was built by Muslims. One thing I did not realize before going was the huge impact of Islam in India. Architecture, culture, state of mind etc… Many times I felt like I was in a North Africa country more than what I pictured as India.

DSCF1559 (2)

DSCF1566 (2)

DSCF1593 (2)

DSCF1597 (2)

DSCF1590 (2)

DSCF1599 (2)

DSCF1601 (2)

 

Finally, before leaving the country we stopped at Agra for one night, on our way to Delhi, to see the Taj Mahal. We caught a wedding in the street of our hotel and watched it from atop. They simply blocked the whole street and used it as a party room. The next day, it was disgusting. The guests had simply thrown down all their trash and no one cleaned after them. Imagine thousands of aluminium plates with leftover food laying around…

The Taj Mahal in itself does not disappoint, it’s beautiful. This temple built for a deceased loved wife is the most expensive attraction I’ve been to in India. I’m not sure it really is worth it… We picked our hotel because we could see it from the rooftop, and then we saw it from another unknown place for free. Silvere decided he’d had enough and waited for me while I visited it. It’s exactly what I expected, very beautiful, and full of Indian tourists taking selfies.

DSCF1610 (2)

A wedding in the street of our hotel.

DSCF1620 (2)

The view from our hotel!

DSCF1631 (2)

DSCF1660 (2)

DSCF1646 (2)

 

When we arrived at the airport, the joke of Indians making me speechless kept going. First, before passing the airport doors there is a control of airplane ticket. We didn’t print ours but i have an email with it. I show the email to the cop doing the security. He touches my phone for a few seconds and hands it back to me saying there is nothing displayed. I look at my phone, that motherfucking idiot simply deleted the email with his fat motherfucking fingers! And it’s not even in the trash bin, so I guess he looked for it there and deleted it too. I am so baffled that I just look at him with big round eyes and shout a loud “you deleted it!” in front of a queue of people waiting to pass this first dumb control. The guy laughs and insists he didn’t do anything but needs to see the ticket. I say it again, “it was here and you deleted it!”. The wifi stopped working so I basically couldn’t do anything. I lost it. Until the end they were hell. He said, still laughing, half embarrased half genuinely amused, that he was calling someone else and we would only have to wait 10min. Explaining we’re in the hurry because, duh, we have a plane to catch does not change anything. “You had one job…”. I keep asking why we have to wait and what’s gonna happen but he obviously doesn’t know. At some point he takes us inside, probably tired of me staring at him with a fear of the deepest dumbness I’ve ever seen and “guides” us to the airline counter. He waits in line with us and I’m still staring at him, giving him too much credit thinking he’s actually going to do something helpful. When it’s our turn, he explains the situation to the agent who couldn’t care less since it changes nothing. Then he asks me if he can go now. Yes please, go far away from me! I could not wait to get out of that country.

 

3 thoughts on “India: last days

Leave a Reply

