Thailand: FOOD!

Thai food… My favorite EVER.

But once in the country, it was different than I excepted… I was even disappointed on my first week. In New York, I had my Thai joints, they were all good, portions were always huge, I knew it was always going to be great. I had my three favorites: Pad Thai, Green curry and Pad see yee. But in Thailand, portions were much smaller and I have to admit, I thought those dishes were less tasty… Maybe in NY, were they customized for westerners? Anyway, after I got used to the menus and found my way around, it was all goodness again. I simply had to try new stuff and stop looking for the same stuff I ate in the US. The street food was amazing obviously, but restaurants were not all equals. In the end, I am very happy that I tried new flavors, new dishes, it was even better than I imagined and Thai food has much more variety than I thought.

Usually, Thai food is very spicy, and I gradually found myself using more and more dried chili, to the point that I could not even eat a dish if it wasn’t very hot. This is also where I completely stopped to go to restaurant and instead went to markets as much as possible (and as Silvere would let me 😦 ) I also discovered the local specialties, and wow. There is so much creativity. Every meal was like a party in my mouth! The food might even be what I liked the most about Thailand!

IMG_4961

Main ingredients in Thai food. You have to balance sweet, sour, spicy and bitter.

IMG_5535

This root is called galangal and is similar to ginger. It can be found in a lot of dishes.

 

 

Snacks:

DSCF6223

From our cooking class in Chiang Mai, spring rolls and deep fried mushrooms with satay sauce.

IMG_4514

Chiang Rai’s specialty: the blue rice. It actually is found of any color on the market.

IMG_5695

Banana chips and tamarind jam sandwiches.

IMG_4507

Black sesame and sticky rice pancakes.

IMG_4509

Fried mushrooms

IMG_5368

Tofu cakes in Prachuap Khiri Khan.

Main dishes:

IMG_5144

Red curry with litchis in Sukhothai! I can’t wait to make this myself!

IMG_5080

Deep fried omelets/pancakes with veggies.

DSCF6227

From our cooking class in Chiang Mai: Tom Yam in a coconut, Kao Soi (comes with regular noodles and crispy noodles, it is one of the best things that have been in my mouth) and Pad Thai. I never knew we could make something so delicious.

IMG_5167

Wonderful stuffed rice flour omelette with soy beans, peanuts and a bunch of sweet and savory ingredients. It is not as simple as it looks and it was so good that we ordered more.

IMG_5574

A deep fried omelette in Khura Buri. Very greasy but surprisingly good!

IMG_5083

Sukhothai noodles. Very light broth, simple and good.

IMG_5162

Tofu larp (probably Lao inspired!)

IMG_5318

A yellow curry. All green, red and yellow curries are amazing. I still can’t decide which one is my favorite.

 

 

Sweets:

IMG_5576

All kind of stuff we know exist with different flavors here… Green tea Kitkat Cornetto for example…

IMG_5693

Or caramel covered Magnum…

IMG_5703

Or pomegranate chocolate covered Magnum (this one was particularly tasty).

IMG_5698

Iconic mango and coconut sticky rice. Difficult to find in the western world, but at every corner in Thailand. If that is not paradise…

IMG_5200

A variation of the mango and sticky rice with banana, in a banana leaf, easy to eat while walking.

IMG_4515

Stuffed waffle fish shaped. Like in mangas!

IMG_5023

All kind of sweets made of coconut and eggs. All weird, all good!

IMG_5286

The same sweet soup found everywhere in South East Asia: anything in coconut milk. Here with bananas and black sticky rice. Deliciousness!

IMG_4511

This is cute but it’s just balls of blended sticky rice with sugar.

IMG_5289

Typical Thai cakes, the stuffing is green tea, black sesame, soy beans etc… and the outside is made of rice flour.

The weird things:

IMG_5575

Dwarf banana.

IMG_5085

Deep fried ice cream. I love it.

IMG_5389

This I did not try of course. I didn’t realize there was any flesh in it.

IMG_4510

Glutinous rice ball with coconut inside. Tasty but very very similar to what I imagine an eyeball who feel like if I was to eat it.

IMG_4512

Green rice with coconut. Without sugar it’s like both tastes cancel each other.

 

Leave a Reply

